Puyallup Tribal Council to Sign Formal Statement on Black Lives Matter

Puyallup Tribal Council to Sign Formal Statement on Black Lives Matter

Puyallup Tribal Council will hold a signing ceremony at 2 p.m. Wednesday, July 29, for its statement of solidarity with Black Lives Matter.

The ceremony will be livestreamed on the Tribe’s Facebook page. Council is also allowing a limited number of people to attend the event at the Emerald Queen Casino Ballroom in Fife. In-person attendees should register since space is limited. On arrival, they will need to have their temperature taken, use hand sanitizer and wear a mask at the event. Register to attend here.

Several Tribal Council members have participated in Black Lives Matter events, and the document formalizes the governing body’s support of the global movement.

“The Puyallup Tribal Council would like to express our support and condolences to the Black community and formally voice our support and solidarity during this time of crisis, but also at all times,” the statement reads. “We acknowledge the injustices and inhumane treatment inflicted upon the Black community, not only in government institutions, systems, and businesses, but in the hearts of many Americans. …. We must acknowledge the internal racism that exists within Native communities, but also our own Native community. This lateral discrimination must be called out, and we have to do better.”

A full version of the statement can be viewed with this news release at www.PuyallupTribe-nsn.gov.

About the Puyallup Tribe of Indians
The Puyallup People have lived along the shores of what is now called Puget Sound since time immemorial. The Puyallup Tribe of Indians is a sovereign nation of more than 5,000 members and one of the largest employers in Pierce County. It serves its people and neighbors with generosity and is committed to building a sustainable way of life for future generations. Learn more about the Puyallup Tribe.

About the Puyallup Tribal Council
The Puyallup Tribal Council is the elected governing body of the Puyallup Tribe of Indians. The council consists of Chairman David Z. Bean, Vice Chairman Bill Sterud, Sylvia Miller, Tim Reynon, Annette Bryan, James Rideout and Anna Bean.

Lisa Pemberton, Content Manager, Puyallup Tribe of Indians, (253) 331-5453; lisa.pemberton@puyalluptribe-nsn.gov
Michael Thompson, Communications Director, Puyallup Tribe of Indians, (253) 382-6200; michael.thompson@puyalluptribe-nsn.gov