New Tribal Council Members Sworn In for 2020

New Tribal Council Members Sworn In for 2020

By Kate Manzanares, Puyallup Tribal Member

On Aug 6, former Chairman David Z. Bean, stood before Monica Miller and James “Jim Jim” Rideout as they recited the oath of office to be officially sworn in and assume their positions as the newly appointed Tribal Council Members.


There were several dozen tribal members at the event which was held outside of the new Emerald Queen Casino, along with nearly 100 individuals logged on virtually via Livestream on the tribe’s Facebook page.

The event featured a blessing by Cultural Director Connie McCloud, and drumming and songs by youth and other tribal members.

The ceremony was briefly interrupted by a tribal member  protesting the election results.  After the new council members were sworn in, the council held its first meeting onsite to elect new leaders.  A change was made by voting Bill Sterud as Chairman and Sylvia Miller as Vice Chairwoman.


“We have a membership to take care of from babies to my age…I am honored to stand here and be called your chairman,” Sterud said.

Miller said she’s served on the council for many years, and has never accepted the vice-chair position before.

“I hope I can fill the shoes of the former vice chairpeople….I hope that we all can come together and be happy again. The Creator has put us here for a reason, and I am here for vice-chair, guys,” Miller said.